Jenni Davidssons blogg

Vardags funderingar, tips, dagbok, tankar.

Give nature a hug! We only have one earth.

Publicerad 2020-04-16 00:30:31 i Allmänt,

Currently lying in bed, coming down with something, but can't sleep.
Thought I'd write here again today. 
During the day I thought about what little I'm doing to help the environment. But how much it would be if a lot of other people did it. Sometimes we think "what would my little action matter?" honestly it matters a lot, but if you still don't believe it. Now if you do it you wouldn't be alone cus I do it. 

Save water
  • Don't have the water running while brushing your teeth. 
  • Turn of the water when you "soap" yourself in the shower.
  • Always make sure the machine is full when you wash, the space of a fist between the machine "roof" and the clothes. 
  • Use the dishwasher as much as you can instead of dishing under running water.
  • Don't peel potatoes or carrots under running water, fill upp the sink instead when you want to wash the skin off. 
  • Keep glass bottles of cold water in the fridge, that way you don't have to wait for the running water to become cold. 

Waste and garbage
  • In sweden we sort out our garbage: Food waste(which in my city is used to make fuel). Hard plastic, soft plastic, metal, magazines, cardboard is the most common ones and of course "rest" which is everything else. I sort most of our garbage. Wouldn't say I'm flawless when it comes to it, but I try to as much as I can. We take our hard plastic, cardboard and magazine out ones a week. "Rest" and food waist twice and metal probably twice a month.
  • Try to come up with a fridge system for when products go out of date, so you make sure to use the old ones before the new ones. 
  • Freeze whatever you can, meat, bread, vegetables, herbs and lunchboxes. I chop and freeze pepper for example, not for salads of course, but for ingredients in hot dishes. Meat I freeze as soon as I come home from the grocery store, unless I'm using it the same day. Just take it out and defrost it when you need it. 
  • Don't waste food. If there's any leftovers, I always make lunchboxes and freeze them for my boyfriend or me, to have at work. Sometimes if there's not carbs(pasta or rice) left, I just freeze a bigger portion of the rest and then I just have to cook rice/pasta for another time when we have dinner. 
Reuse / repurpose
  • I love to make nice crafts from old stuff, instead of throwing it away. A glasbottle/tin can/jar become a pot, lantern, vase, set for pens or tools. Leave it in hot water for a while, so the label comes of, sometimes you have to scrub. It's nice naked like this or paint it. I love spray painting for example. 
  • Save what you can. At work around Halloween a porcelain pumpkin broke, we couldn't sell it. So I took care of it. 
    A bit of glitter on the inside and some acrylic paint on the outside. Tadaa! Beautiful decoration, that I can't buy anywhere and I didn't have to spend much money on it. 
  • Save what you can part 2, ripped or damaged clothes can become cloths, or cover up patches for other cloeths, they can become decoration or maybe another piece of clothing. Don't throw them just yet, wait a little and see if they come in handy. However don't become a horder. 
  • Outgrown your clothes or just sick of them? Give them to charity and feel a little good about yourself. Or maybe have a little yard sale if you have many, maybe you can give them to a friend or relative and it might just become their new favourite item to wear. 

Just some ideas, if you like it and would want me to post more, something specific, let me know. 
I been thinking about creating a new blog maybe about travels, mainly in England but some other places too. Does that sound interesting? 

Gonna try to sleep now, hopefully I'll feel better tomorrow. Over and out 
Xoxo

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela