Jenni Davidssons blogg

Vardags funderingar, tips, dagbok, tankar.

Timelines

Publicerad 2020-04-23 10:16:58 i Allmänt,

I have noticed something, am I the only one who has trouble with the perspective of time?

I mean I think a lot of us, feels like 2008 was 2-3 years ago. Spoiler alert: it was 12 years ago!

Just read an article about St. George, because England celebrate St. George's day today. I learned 2 things, one about me and just something I've never thought of
  1. The reason why counting centuries, is so fucking backwards is because we start at 1. So when it could've been 0 century. It is of course 1st century instead. It's obvious of course. But I've never thought of it. And I always had trouble figuring out which century it was when people where talking about "18th century" for example. And the fact that it's now 21st century 
  • 1-99 1st century 
  • 100-199 2nd century


  1. 2.  Back to the "understanding of time" - sound like I'm about to write about quantum physics or something... Anyway when I watch a documentary or when I'm out experiencing historical stuff. I read all these years. St. George was bourn in the 1st century. And this is from the article I read "He became popular with English kings. Edward I (1272-1307) had banners bearing the emblem of St George (a red cross on a white background". Nothing odd with that, nice he was a rockstar amongst Kings. And then I read this "ST GEORGE WAS A SAINT FOR 1000 YEARS BEFORE THE 'HOLIDAY". This is when I realise that a 1000 years is a thousand years. These King's that loved him, where ruling around 1200 years after St George wandered the earth. Which means in time, those Kings are closer to us in time, than they where to him. And I have not seen it that way. Everything before 1000 has the time line of 100 years to me basically. And everytuing before 1600s(17th century😌) is is basically the same era in my head. Of course it's not, and I know a lot of history, I love it. But to put it in perspective, is really hard. 

That's all for me and my history 😂 
If you want to read more about St. George's Day here you go: https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/whats-on/st-georges-day/9-things-you-didnt-know-about-St-George/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=facebook_page&utm_medium=English%20Heritage

Over and out
Xoxoxo






Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela